Calories

ccfoods

A calorie is a unit of food energy used like a measurement tool. We need calories to help fuel our bodies but it is important that we choose healthy calories because we are in need of nutrients without a lot of calories! We often encounter empty calories when we eat things with sugars in them or solid fats. These are the unhealthy calories you want to stay away from; they add calories to your diet, without adding nutrients. Foods to avoid: soda, cheese, ice cream, hot dogs, among many more! If you are anything like me you are now thinking about hitting the X on the top right of your screen because you are NOT and I repeat NOT giving up ice cream! Great news- you don’t need to give up your favorite foods, you can still enjoy the foods you love; you just need to eat less of them! Smaller portions are key to weight loss. Right? Then why did my beach body coach tell me you have to eat to lose weight?! Everything in moderation! Skipping meals and overly restricted calorie counts will lead to an increased appetite and low satiety because your body is preventing starvation.

Recap, eating too much can be bad; eating too little can be bad. Who can possibly know the right amount to eat?! Be aware of your personal needs. Your metabolic rate can be estimated by multiplying your body weight by 10, me for example (I can’t believe I am admitting this) I weigh 130lbs, I multiply that by 10 and I NEED to consume at least 1,300 calories a day, consuming less would be counterproductive. But, how much is too much? Active people need more calories, well duh; you also burn calories due to everyday living. Factor in your level of activity and how active you are throughout the day and you can have a rough idea of how many calories you burn, if you have a desk job and go home to watch television you won’t need many more calories each day. I for example have a desk job and do NOTHING at work, but I work out daily burning about 300 calories, I could safely add 400 calories to my needed daily consumption. My safe range for daily calories is then 1,300-1,700. Clear as mud right!

Want to learn more about calories, check out the following links!

www.choosemyplate.gov

www.active.com

Fun Facts!

Banging your head against a wall burns 150 calories an hour.

Almonds and other nuts pass through our gut without relinquishing all of their calories.

1 cup of egg whites holds 1.5X the amount of potassium in a large banana.

Strawberries, raspberries and blackberries, are in fact NOT berries, who knew…but a banana is a berry!

48% of fountain soda drinks contain fecal bacteria. Yum!

Check out more fun facts at www.leanitup.com

2000-Calories-800x390

4 thoughts on “Calories

    1. I always say everything in moderation. I won’t lie though, I love Diet Coke. I know it is bad for you, but if I only allow myself to have it 1-2 times per week I feel better about that habit! I did not know that about almonds and I am happy to read that, because they are my go to snack. YAY! Good information-thank you!

      Like

    2. Great information! Although, I will not be found banging my head on the wall to burn calories. I found it easier to burn more calories by parking father away and walking or taking the stairs. I am also a health nut and try to eat healthy, nutrient-dense foods. I like to eat fresh fruits and veggies, make smoothies, and try new recipes from Pinterest.

      Like

  1. I love the little facts you shared, sure puts things into perspective. I appreciate the information you shared, I most recently have also been researching and focusing on “clean eating” which is all about healthy calories as you have mentioned in your post. As I read your explanation and examples of food choices, it made me thinks about a surprising fact that I found throughout my research. Did you know that you are to avoid iceberg lettuce? Iceberg letuce is considered empty calories, not that it is bad for you, but it doesn’t have the nutritional value that dark leaf salads offer. I look forward to further posts from you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

